Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP preview

0
297

Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP preview

Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP preview

20.08.2014: BELGIAN Grand Prix 2014 at Spa – Francorchamps Nearly a month has passed since the last Grand Prix in Hungary and

BELGIAN Grand Prix 2014 at Spa – Francorchamps

Nearly a month has passed since the last Grand Prix in Hungary and in that time, we have had the compulsory two week factory shutdown, as stipulated in the Sporting Regulations. It provided a well deserved break for everyone in the team to enjoy some holiday time with family and friends.

But for motor racing fans, a month without a Grand Prix is far too long, so the entire Scuderia Toro Rosso crew is looking forward to this weekend’s return to racing, all the more so as it takes place at one of the most challenging tracks on the calendar, Spa‑Francorchamps. It might be half the length it used to be, but crammed into its seven odd kilometres are bits of track that capture the essence of what the old circuit must have been liked to drive.

But don’t take our word for it, because you can still drive on the ‘old’ bits as they are still public roads, going through legendary and scary corners like Burnenville and the most feared section of all, especially if it was raining, the Masta kink.

Give it a go, it’s one of the best things you can do during the Formula One season, before tackling some famously strong Belgian beer, brewed by Monks who clearly had a sense of humour. (Take a taxi home afterwards)


JEAN-ERIC VERGNE

Spa is undoubtedly one of the best circuits on the calendar and I think I’d have to say it’s also my favourite track. I love it for so many different reasons, starting with the track itself. Then I also like the country and the area where the circuit is, which is very beautiful.

In Belgium I also always have a lot of Belgian fans waiting for me and the place just feels like home. It’s a great race weekend. Of course, this place is famous for its strange weather, with rain at one part of the track and not at another, which is an aspect I actually enjoy.

It also has that mix of the high speed sections, where you need good engine power and the slower more technical section on the part of the track that links up the two bits from the original old 14 kilometre circuit. Always a great weekend!


DANIIL KVYAT

I have very good memories, as I won here three times. But once you get to the track, everything starts again from zero and how well you do depends on how good a job you do starting on Friday morning.

Spa is a legendary track, I’ve enjoyed driving there in the past, so I am really looking forward to tackling it in a Formula One car for the first time. It is definitely one of my favourites. What do you need there?

A powerful engine combined with high downforce, which you need on the second sector, which is technically challenging and for the first and third sectors you also want good stability under braking with plenty of straight line speed. If it rains that’s fine for me, as it’s the same for everyone.


DRIVERS SUMMER HOLIDAYS

DANIIL KVYAT

“I spent the summer break dividing my time almost equally between three countries, Russia, Italy and Finland. I started in Italy, enjoying a good time with friends, just relaxing. The next stop was Russia where of course I caught up with my family. I also spent a bit of time in Moscow before heading to Finland.

I was taking part in a training camp just outside Helsinki, on the ocean-side for several days, to make sure I’m in good shape for Spa and the final part of the season. I liked the fact it was a bit cooler here than in some other parts of Europe, where it’s very hot and there are too many crowds! I

have to admit I did keep in touch with my race engineer during the break, but it was more a case of having a chat than talking about work. That can wait ‘til Spa!”


JEAN-ERIC VERGNE

“I’ve had a busy time since the Hungarian Grand Prix, starting with a bit of work before the official shutdown, as I did a day in the simulator. I was also on duty, for a show car run for Infiniti Red Bull Racing in Assen, not at the famous race track but in the Dutch town itself, which was cool.

After that, I was planning to stay home in Switzerland, but it rained so much we packed a bag and headed off to stay with friends for a bit of a holiday in Corsica, with plenty of sunshine. We did a bit of everything, mountains, beach and so on.

For the last part of the break, I went to my parents’ place in the south of France with my trainer to do some fitness work, in preparation for the final part  of the season. As part of the programme, I’ve been cycling and the other day I tackled six cols over 120 kilometres, climbing for a total of over 2,400 metres. I was pleased with that!”

– Fabiana Valenti – photos Scuderia Toro Rosso

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/scuderia-toro-rosso-f1-belgian-gp-spa—126625.html

20.08.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Renault F1 Sport Spa preview
19.08.2014
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2014 at Spa Francorchamps  Belgium in numbers :(with 1 being the easiest, 5 being the most severe)INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE    5MGU-K    5MGU-H    5 weiter >>
Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps: The Inside Line
19.08.2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 at Belgian Grand Prix 2014, Spa – FrancorchampsLewis Hamilton Spa is an amazing circuit. You really feel like you're going somewhere here – up into the woods, around the back and the weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview
19.08.2014
2014 Belgian Grand Prix – Preview  Round 12 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Spa for the Belgian Grand Prix, held at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.   Driver / weiter >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Spa preview
19.08.2014
Belgian Grand-Prix 2014  at Spa FrancorchampsDaniel Ricciardo:Above all, Spa is a racing circuit – one that really encourages exciting wheel-to-wheel action. That said weiter >>
Pirelli Belgian GP preview 2014
18.08.2014
Pirelli Belgian GP preview 2014      Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa, 21-24 August 2014- Medium and soft tyres as Formula One resumes following summer break- Spa: the longest lap and one of the mo weiter >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa preview
18.08.2014
2014 Belgian Grand Prix – preview Formula 1 returns to action this weekend at one of the world’s most challenging circuits. Spa-Francorchamps, situated deep in Belgium’s Ardennes forest, is the ultimate high-speed weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview
18.08.2014
2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Preview Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya looks ahead to the second half of the season. Vijay, three weeks on from Budapest, has the team regrouped weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Shell Belgian Grand Prix 2014
18.08.2014
Shell Belgian Grand-Prix, Spa-Francorchamps 201412th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 22nd to 24th August 2014After a two week summer break, Formula One and, therefore, the Sauber F1 Team returns to the race t weiter >>
Shell invites Alonso and Raikkonen to demonstrate some of the World's most energy efficient cars at Spa
25.07.2014
LA SOURCE CORNER, CIRCUIT DE SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, BELGIUM•    Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen to drive ultra energy efficient vehicles of the future at Spa-Francorchamps•    Student weiter >>
Vettel dominates Belgian Grand Prix with a two stop strategy
25.08.2013
Pirelli on 2013 Belgian Grand Prix – RaceRed Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has taken his 31st career victory at the Belgian Grand Prix, held on the longest circuit of the year. Vettel’s la weiter >>
Renault powers Sebastian Vettel to majestic Spa victory
25.08.2013
•    Sebastian Vettel (Infiniti Red Bull Racing) wins Belgian Grand Prix by 17secs over Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso•    Reigning world champion secures second win in three years at Spa-Francorchamps t weiter >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Spa race win 2013
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GP – RACECar 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: WINNER, Start Position: 2nd  “I don’t think we expected to be dominant here, and it surpris weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa race
25.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix 2013 Race  Spa Francorchamps Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg secured a strong team result this afternoon at the Belgian Grand Prix, taking third and fourth places respectively at Spa-Francorchamps. weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa Race 2013
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIXSpa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 25“As always, it was really fun to race around this magnificent circuit”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-04Started & weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team endured a difficult Belgian Grand Prix in Spa…
25.08.2013
…with brake failure leading to the retirement of Kimi Räikkönen whilst Romain Grosjean employed a one-stop strategy to finish eighth. Kimi’s DNF was the first of his Lotus F1 Team career and his first retirem weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Race
25.08.2013
2013 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Race  It was mixed fortunes for Sahara Force India as Adrian Sutil raced to ninth place in the Belgian Grand Prix, while Paul Di Resta failed to finish after being hit weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Spa race review
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2013Spa Francorchamps, Belgium – 25th August 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell products are available in more than 60,000 retail locations wo weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Spa race review
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 25/08/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 10th “It was nice to get that point! We ran a long first stint on the Hards a weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Spa Race
25.08.2013
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 25.08.2013Weather: cloudy and dry, 19-21°C air, 24-27°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team was not able to claim points at the Belgian Grand Pr weiter >>
Spa F1 race result 2013
25.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     44     Winner     2     252 &n weiter >>
F1 driver quotes after Spa F1 qualifying 2013
24.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX SPA FRANCORCHAMPS24 AUGUST 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“It wasn’t clear if the first lap we did in Q3 was the lap on intermedi weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 qualifying result 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     10     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     2:00.368    1:49.067    2:01.012     22 weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 3 classification 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:48.327         162  &nb weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 driver quotes after free practices
23.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“We don’t know what happened when I got the puncture in P2. We lost the rear right, very suddenly, so we need to weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 2 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:49.331         222     weiter >>
Spa Practice 1 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:55.198         112     14  &nb weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2013 The Belgian Grand Prix, the first race after Formula One's summer break, takes place at the historic Spa-Francorchamps circuit in the Ardennes region this weekend. •  &n weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Belgian GP preview
21.08.2013
PREVIEW TO THE BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  Spa-Francorchamps statisticsLENGTH (KM)    AVERAGE SPEED (KPH)    TOP SPEED (KPH)    % OF LAP AT FULL THROTTLE    FU weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
2013 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix Preview Sahara Force India looks forward to the Belgian Grand Prix, the eleventh race of the 2013 season.  Team Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, reflects on the team’s recent weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here