Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview

0
322

Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview

Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview

31.03.2014: 2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th April 2014

2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix
3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th April 2014

Directly after the race in Sepang, the Sauber F1 Team is travelling to the third round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship taking place from the 4th to 6th April at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Test and reserve driver Giedo van der Garde will be called into action for the first time this season for FP1 on Friday. Regular driver Esteban Gutiérrez will take over from the second practice session on. Van der Garde will also be at the wheel of the C33 on day two of testing, which will take place from the 8th to 9th April in Bahrain. On day one Sergey Sirotkin will drive the car in order to fullfil the requirements for the super licence.

Esteban Gutiérrez (car number 21):

“Bahrain is a track which we all know pretty well from testing. We have good references from there, and it will be very interesting to come back and to see what our improvements are in comparison to the first two races. The Bahrain International Circuit has a special track characteristic.

Based on what we learnt from the first two races, I think we can make another step in terms of drivability. We made improvements on the braking and I believe we can push these even further. Everyone in our team and Ferrari are doing their best to get things done properly. My favorite part of the track is the last one with the fast corners.

The left-hander which goes uphill is very interesting. Besides that, it will be a nice feeling to race for the first time in Bahrain at night. I do believe the track in Bahrain will also help us to have more stable tyre temperatures as the weather will be good.”

Adrian Sutil (car number 99):

“This year Bahrain will host a night race, so it won’t be as hot, and the data collected during the pre-season tests will only be of limited significance, which makes it interesting. The tyres especially will behave differently, but we can go back to our data from the night race in Singapore.

I am looking forward to the race weekend. Night races are always interesting and provide a great backdrop for the spectators. It is special to drive at night. I like the layout. The pit facilities are very modern with a lot of space. My favorite parts are the fast chicane in turns six and seven, as well as the fast section in the last sector.

We have spent a lot of days testing at the Bahrain International Circuit, but driving there was always fun. I like being in Bahrain. It’s a small country, but it is interesting and has a lot of history.”


Giampaolo Dall’Ara, Head of Track Engineering:

“We went testing in Bahrain twice before the start of the season and were not happy with the performance of the car, which had a lot to do with a lack of straightline speed and some issues under braking. However, since then, we have improved the car in different areas, particularly under braking.

In addition, the performance in medium and high speed corners is quite good as well. However, we still have room for improvement in low speed corners, and the straightline speed is still an issue. Pirelli will provide the medium and the soft compounds, hence, the same tyres we had in Melbourne.

I think this is a good choice for the Bahrain track, because it is more abrasive. We are constantly working on fine tuning all the systems with the goal to provide the drivers with a car which gives them the confidence to push it to the limits. In addition, we will continue our weight saving programme during the upcoming races.“

Circuit    Bahrain International Circuit / 5.412 km

Race distance    57 laps / 308.238 km

Schedule    Qualifying 18:00 hrs local time (17:00 hrs CET), Race 18:00 hrs local time (17:00 hrs CET)

Driver    Esteban Gutiérrez    Adrian Sutil

Born    05.08.1991 Monterrey (MX)    11.01.1983 Starnberg (DE)
Marital status    Single    In a relationship
Height / Weight    1.80 m / 63 kg    1.83 m / 75 kg
First GP    Melbourne 2013    Melbourne 2007
GP started    21    111
Best race result    7th Japan (2013)    4th Monza (2009)
Best qualifying    9th Korea (2013)    2nd Monza (2009)
Points 2014    – (currently 16th)    – (currently 14th)
Points in total    6    124

The Sauber F1 Team has 0 points to its tally and currently holds 8th place in the Constructors’ Championship.

Hanspeter Brack, Marleen Seilheimer, photo Sauber

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sauber-f1-team-gulf-air-bahrain-gp-preview—121391.html

31.03.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Lotus F1 Team Bahrain race
21.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen took his third podium finish of the season and Romain Grosjean his first after a superb second and third place result in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix. After emulating the 2-3 result of the same result weiter >>
Clean sweep of Bahrain Grand Prix podium for Renault engines
21.04.2013
Renault-engined drivers locked out the podium in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix, with Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel taking a commanding win over Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.It is the s weiter >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing Bahrain race
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GP – RACE                                 Ca weiter >>
Vettel's three-stop strategy results in Bahrain GP win
21.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand Prix – RaceSebastian Vettel (Red Bull) winning the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixReigning world champion Sebastian Vettel used a three-stop strategy to win the Bahrain weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Sunday 21st April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationEvery day GE Healthcare technology helps doctors save nearly 3,000 lives weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXBahrain International Circuit, Sunday April 21“That’s what this sport is all about; it’s called racing”SERGIO PEREZMP4-28A-02 weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 21.04.2013 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-26°C air, 42-37°C trackIt was a disappointing Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team. In a race that had weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Race  It was a successful day for Sahara Force India in Bahrain as Paul Di Resta raced to a strong fourth place. Teammate Adrian Sutil’s hopes of points ended with a first lap puncture.  weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg finished the Bahrain Grand Prix in fifth and ninth places today after battling drives, however both cars struggled badly when temperatures were at their highest in the early stages of the race. •&nb weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 21/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 16th “I got a reasonable start, better than some of the guys around me and I got ahead of G weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Race result 2013
21.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Provisional Results   1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     57     Winner     2 weiter >>
F1 Driver quotes from Bahrain qualifying 2013
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSAKHIR  SATURDAY  20 APRIL 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“I’m not disappointed with that. Well done to Nico, it was a strong lap and it was weiter >>
Multiple strategies possible at the Bahrain Grand Prix
20.04.2013
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), pole position at the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixMercedes driver Nico Rosberg will start from pole position at the Bahrain Grand Prix tomorrow, thanks to a time of 1m32.330s set on the P Zero White medium tyres, weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Bahrain – QUALIFYING Nico Rosberg took the second pole position of his career in Bahrain today with Lewis Hamilton qualifying in fourth place. •    The result gave the team its first consecutive pol weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set the ninth fastest time and Romain Grosjean the eleventh during qualifying for the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix. Romain missed out on the top ten by a mere 0.06secs but will be the first driver on the grid to have weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Qualifying Sahara Force India carried its strong form into today’s qualifying session for the Bahrain Grand Prix with Paul Di Resta setting the seventh fastest time ahead of te weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 20.04.2013Weather: overcast, 31-33°C air, 37-43°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team experienced a difficult qualifying for the Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix. Despit weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGBahrain International Circuit, Saturday April 20“We’ve both got a chance of scoring points”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th&n weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain qualifying review
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – FP3 & QUALIFYINGSakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Saturday 20th April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner information weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 20/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:34.577, pos. 14th, 16 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:34.120, ( weiter >>
Sakhir Qualifying results, Nico Rosberg takes pole
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:33.364    1:32.867    1:32.330  &nbsp weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Saturday Practice results
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:33.247         122     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:33.348     weiter >>
Sahkir F1 drivers quotes after Friday practices
19.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013  SAKHIR International CircuitInfiniti Red Bull RacingMark Webber“I would have liked to have got some more running in P2, but I still think we learned what we expected today. Saturdays a weiter >>
Sakhir F1 practice 2 results
19.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     7     Kimi Räikkönen     Lotus-Renault     1:34.154         312     2     Mark Webber     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:34.184   &nb weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Practice 1 results
19.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     4     Felipe Massa     Ferrari     1:34.487         112     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:34.564     0.077     1 weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Sakhir preview
18.04.2013
Bahrain Grand-Prix 2013  Sakhir: three corners in detailTurns 1 & 2 The first corner is actually very tight as the driver brakes down from over 330kph to just over 60kph. weiter >>
Catheram F1 Bahrain Grand Prix preview
17.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand PrixViewBahrain – GeneralRace Laps: 56The track surface is usually sandy at the start of each sessionLots of marbles off the racing lineElevation is relevant out of T11 weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Sakhir race preview
17.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand Prix previewBahrain International Circuit facts & statsThe Bahrain International Circuit was the first Formula 1-spec track to be built in the Middle East. Located at Sakhir, 30km south west of Bahr weiter >>
17.04.2013
BAHRAIN Grand Prix 2013  Sakhir International CircuitAfter another podium result, Team Principal Eric Boullier knows the key to a successful championship campaign is maintaining that all important momentum weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here