Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview

0
283

Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview

Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview

18.08.2014: 2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Preview Vijay’s Vision Vijay Mallya looks ahead to the second half of the season.

2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Preview

 
Vijay’s Vision

Vijay Mallya looks ahead to the second half of the season.
 


Vijay, three weeks on from Budapest, has the team regrouped following a tough race?

“Until Hungary we had scored points in every race, so I guess we were due to have an unlucky weekend at some stage. I just hope that’s our bad luck over and done with. 

At the same time there was a huge opportunity to come away with some significant points so it was a missed opportunity. Both drivers came to me and apologised. Checo was unlucky: the same thing happened to Vettel at the same corner and he got away with it.”
 


Despite missing points in Budapest, the team still sits fifth in the championship…

“I’m pleased we went into the summer break in fifth place. I think it’s where we deserve to be at this stage of the season. Fourth place is not out of reach either with 38 points covering fourth to sixth place.

One race can make all the difference, and the last race, with double points, could prove to be decisive. So we'll just keep our heads down and focus on every single race and take it as it comes.”
 


Can you believe it’s almost five years since the team’s first pole and podium at Spa?

“The time has gone quickly, but since then the team has only become stronger. It was a breakthrough moment when people sat up and started to take us seriously. I’m proud of where we are today and I feel there will be some big opportunities in the final eight races for us to show our potential.

Spa is a high-speed track so it's an opportunity for the Mercedes-engined teams, but equally there are other tracks we are looking forward to, such as Singapore.”
 


 
Driver's View: Nico Hulkenberg
Nico Hülkenberg looks forward to the challenge of Spa-Francorchamps.

 


Nico, are you feeling refreshed after your holidays?

“The summer break was a good opportunity to stay at home in Switzerland and relax. I’m feeling refreshed and ready to get back in the car because three weeks is a long time away from racing.”
 


How are you approaching the second part of the season?

“I’m feeling upbeat. There’s a lot at stake, but the team is up for the fight. We made the most of our opportunities in the first part of the season and we need to do the same in the final eight races. I expect a close battle in the championship until the end of the season so we need to be consistently picking up good points.”
 


The Belgian Grand Prix is the next race – how much do you enjoy driving at Spa-Francorchamps?

“It’s an amazing track and one of my favourites – as it probably is for everybody on the grid. There are so many iconic corners, such as Eau Rouge and Pouhon, which feel very special in a Formula One car. For the high and medium speed corners you obviously need downforce, but it’s a trade-off with top speed on the long straights so you need good efficiency.”
 
 

Driver's View: Sergio Perez
Sergio Perez is ready for the Belgian Grand Prix
.
 

Sergio, what have you been up to during your summer holidays?

“I spent most of my time in Mexico. During the season I don’t manage to go home as often as I would like so it was a good chance to spend time with my family.”
 

Where better to resume the season than in Spa-Francorchamps?

“I love the track. It has amazing corners, lots of character and history. The racing is always intense because there are a couple of overtaking opportunities, especially in turn five if you get a good run through Eau Rouge. It will be interesting to see how these cars cope with Eau Rouge this year and whether we can still take it flat.”
 

What do you feel is possible this weekend?

“I’ve never scored points at Spa, so that’s my first target. We also need to put the disappointment of Hungary behind us. Spa is a power track and I think we can perform well there. You also have to expect wet weather at some point so it could be quite unpredictable.”

– Sahara Force India also photo

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sahara-force-india-f1-spa-belgian-gp-preview—126566.html

18.08.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Sauber F1 Team Shell Belgian Grand Prix 2014
18.08.2014
Shell Belgian Grand-Prix, Spa-Francorchamps 201412th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 22nd to 24th August 2014After a two week summer break, Formula One and, therefore, the Sauber F1 Team returns to the race t weiter >>
Shell invites Alonso and Raikkonen to demonstrate some of the World's most energy efficient cars at Spa
25.07.2014
LA SOURCE CORNER, CIRCUIT DE SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, BELGIUM•    Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen to drive ultra energy efficient vehicles of the future at Spa-Francorchamps•    Student weiter >>
Vettel dominates Belgian Grand Prix with a two stop strategy
25.08.2013
Pirelli on 2013 Belgian Grand Prix – RaceRed Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has taken his 31st career victory at the Belgian Grand Prix, held on the longest circuit of the year. Vettel’s la weiter >>
Renault powers Sebastian Vettel to majestic Spa victory
25.08.2013
•    Sebastian Vettel (Infiniti Red Bull Racing) wins Belgian Grand Prix by 17secs over Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso•    Reigning world champion secures second win in three years at Spa-Francorchamps t weiter >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Spa race win 2013
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GP – RACECar 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: WINNER, Start Position: 2nd  “I don’t think we expected to be dominant here, and it surpris weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa race
25.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix 2013 Race  Spa Francorchamps Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg secured a strong team result this afternoon at the Belgian Grand Prix, taking third and fourth places respectively at Spa-Francorchamps. weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa Race 2013
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIXSpa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 25“As always, it was really fun to race around this magnificent circuit”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-04Started & weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team endured a difficult Belgian Grand Prix in Spa…
25.08.2013
…with brake failure leading to the retirement of Kimi Räikkönen whilst Romain Grosjean employed a one-stop strategy to finish eighth. Kimi’s DNF was the first of his Lotus F1 Team career and his first retirem weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Race
25.08.2013
2013 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Race  It was mixed fortunes for Sahara Force India as Adrian Sutil raced to ninth place in the Belgian Grand Prix, while Paul Di Resta failed to finish after being hit weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Spa race review
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2013Spa Francorchamps, Belgium – 25th August 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell products are available in more than 60,000 retail locations wo weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Spa race review
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 25/08/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 10th “It was nice to get that point! We ran a long first stint on the Hards a weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Spa Race
25.08.2013
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 25.08.2013Weather: cloudy and dry, 19-21°C air, 24-27°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team was not able to claim points at the Belgian Grand Pr weiter >>
Spa F1 race result 2013
25.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     44     Winner     2     252 &n weiter >>
F1 driver quotes after Spa F1 qualifying 2013
24.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX SPA FRANCORCHAMPS24 AUGUST 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“It wasn’t clear if the first lap we did in Q3 was the lap on intermedi weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 qualifying result 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     10     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     2:00.368    1:49.067    2:01.012     22 weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 3 classification 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:48.327         162  &nb weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 driver quotes after free practices
23.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“We don’t know what happened when I got the puncture in P2. We lost the rear right, very suddenly, so we need to weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 2 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:49.331         222     weiter >>
Spa Practice 1 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:55.198         112     14  &nb weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2013 The Belgian Grand Prix, the first race after Formula One's summer break, takes place at the historic Spa-Francorchamps circuit in the Ardennes region this weekend. •  &n weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Belgian GP preview
21.08.2013
PREVIEW TO THE BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  Spa-Francorchamps statisticsLENGTH (KM)    AVERAGE SPEED (KPH)    TOP SPEED (KPH)    % OF LAP AT FULL THROTTLE    FU weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
2013 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix Preview Sahara Force India looks forward to the Belgian Grand Prix, the eleventh race of the 2013 season.  Team Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, reflects on the team’s recent weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Spa Francorchamps preview
21.08.2013
2013 Shell Belgian Grand Prix11th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 23rd to 25th August 2013After a two week summer break the Sauber F1 Team is looking forward to the Belgian Grand Prix at the circ weiter >>
Hard and medium Pirelli tyres for Spa Francorchamps 2013
21.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa-Francorchamps   Before the mid-season break, the Formula One teams visited the slowest permanent track on the calendar: the Hungaroring. Now they head to one of the quickest of all: Spa-Francorchamps, in the foothill weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa Francorchamps preview
16.08.2013
2013 Belgian Grand Prix previewSpa-Francorchamps facts & statsAfter a four-week break in the Formula 1 calendar, Vodafone McLaren Mercedes returns to action at one of the world’s most historic racetracks. Spa- weiter >>
16.08.2013
After a strong second position last time out in Budapest, Kimi Räikkönen arrives at one of his very favourite circuits – where he has four wins already to his name – with everything to play forYou were second in Budapest before the su weiter >>
16.08.2013
After ‘the one that got away’ in Budapest, our Frenchman heads to Belgium full of vigour for the race aheadWhat are your thoughts about Spa-Francorchamps?What a track; it’s fantastic! It&rs weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Management Spa preview
16.08.2013
Eric Boullier: “We head into the next nine races on a real high”Eight podiums from ten races have given Eric Boullier plenty to smile about in 2013 so far, and the Team Principal is hoping for more of the same from the weiter >>
Double podium for Renault engines in Spa
02.09.2012
Belgian Grand-Prix 2012 Two Renault engined drivers stood on the podium following a classic Belgian Grand Prix at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit today. Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel finished in second position after scything through the field from his starting slot of 10th, with Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen completing the podium in third. Mark weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here