Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview

0
224

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview

19.08.2014: 2014 Belgian Grand Prix – Preview Round 12 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings

2014 Belgian Grand Prix – Preview

 
Round 12 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Spa for the Belgian Grand Prix, held at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.
 
 

Driver / Senior Management Quotes
 
Lewis Hamilton

The summer break was a good chance to relax and to reflect on what's been an incredible start to the year for us as a team. But personally, I can't wait to get back in the car and back into the battle for the Championship.

I had some difficult weekends in the first part of the season, but then a bit of good fortune at the last race in Budapest kept me from damaging my car on the wall during that first lap, so hopefully that was a sign that my fortunes are changing at just the right time. There were so many positives to take from the opening eleven races, but both myself and the team always want more and know we are capable of more.

The aim is to put the more difficult times of some of the previous weekends behind us and to recreate the best moments at every race from now on. I love driving at Spa, so there are few better places to start. I had good results there in 2008 and on my first visit to the circuit with this team last year, plus the win in 2010 of course.

I haven't won there as many times as I'd like but that win was a really special one, so I really want to add to that and that's definitely the target this weekend.
 


Nico Rosberg

It's good to be back after the break and to see everyone looking really refreshed and up for the fight in the remaining months of the season. The last race didn't turn out how I had hoped after taking pole in tricky conditions the day before, but I still managed to come away with my Championship lead intact and that's a good place to be heading into the next part of the year.

Although we have had a great start with plenty of good results, that race showed that the other teams are never too far away. In Formula One you just can't afford to give away any advantage and I know that both the team and myself will be working harder than ever to keep improving and maintain our position right to the very end.

On top of that, the battle with Lewis has been so close all season – and it could well stay that way right up to the final race – so every last point will be crucial in that contest too. Next up, of course, we have Belgium, which is definitely one of the most spectacular races of the year.

The circuit is just unreal and it's one I think every driver looks forward to. My record there hasn't been as good as at some other circuits in the past, but I'm determined to change that and get the season kicked off again in style!
 


Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport

It has been good for the sport to take a break during these past two weeks after an intense start to the season. Aside from the demanding schedule which we encounter each and every year, the challenges of this new formula have placed an extra demand on all the people who have worked so hard to produce what is an almost entirely new car for these revolutionary regulations.

The big positive from that, however, is that what we have already seen an impressive display in terms of both the technology underneath the drivers and some spectacular racing on track. Looking ahead to Spa, and also reflecting on our recent performances, it is clear that reliability must be a key focus for the team if we are to maintain the hard-earned advantage established in the opening stages of the year.

We approach the remaining eight races with the firm target of making this next phase of the season even better than what we have achieved so far. Although the team has done a fantastic job, we are fully aware that this Championship is far from decided – as demonstrated clearly in Hungary by the performance of some of our competitors. As always, we are taking nothing for granted.
 

Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)

Spa is one of the truly great circuits in Formula One, with plenty of heritage and some fantastic racing on show throughout the many years of its presence on the calendar. Eau Rouge is, naturally, the highlight. It has always been a tricky challenge to master and is arguably the most symbolic corner of any racetrack we visit.

Overall, Spa is a very fast, low downforce circuit, requiring the cars to run with a quite different configuration to that seen so far this season. It's also a very long lap which, combined with the variable weather conditions almost inevitably encountered in Belgium, can make for a tricky race.

If rain begins to fall at the wrong moment, there is plenty of time for mistakes to be made before a driver can return to the pits for wet tyres. Again, the circuit presents quite a different challenge to those seen thus far this year, so we're looking forward to seeing how the F1 W05 Hybrid fares.

We're certainly hoping for a strong performance and, if we can get the setup right and manage the weather conditions correctly, we can be optimistic of a good result. Having said that, we are under no illusions that a number of other cars will also come to the fore here.

Our priority as a team is to re-establish a trouble-free weekend, which is something we unfortunately haven't seen for a few races. But we are now just over halfway through the season and, with everyone having had a chance to recharge the batteries during the summer break, we head to Spa refreshed and fully focused on making the most of the remaining eight races.
 
 

Nicola Armstrong ,Bradley Lord , Wolfgang Schattling     – photo Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-spa-hamilton-rosberg-duel—126608.html

19.08.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Spa preview
19.08.2014
Belgian Grand-Prix 2014  at Spa FrancorchampsDaniel Ricciardo:Above all, Spa is a racing circuit – one that really encourages exciting wheel-to-wheel action. That said weiter >>
Pirelli Belgian GP preview 2014
18.08.2014
Pirelli Belgian GP preview 2014      Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa, 21-24 August 2014- Medium and soft tyres as Formula One resumes following summer break- Spa: the longest lap and one of the mo weiter >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa preview
18.08.2014
2014 Belgian Grand Prix – preview Formula 1 returns to action this weekend at one of the world’s most challenging circuits. Spa-Francorchamps, situated deep in Belgium’s Ardennes forest, is the ultimate high-speed weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview
18.08.2014
2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Preview Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya looks ahead to the second half of the season. Vijay, three weeks on from Budapest, has the team regrouped weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Shell Belgian Grand Prix 2014
18.08.2014
Shell Belgian Grand-Prix, Spa-Francorchamps 201412th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 22nd to 24th August 2014After a two week summer break, Formula One and, therefore, the Sauber F1 Team returns to the race t weiter >>
Shell invites Alonso and Raikkonen to demonstrate some of the World's most energy efficient cars at Spa
25.07.2014
LA SOURCE CORNER, CIRCUIT DE SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, BELGIUM•    Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen to drive ultra energy efficient vehicles of the future at Spa-Francorchamps•    Student weiter >>
Vettel dominates Belgian Grand Prix with a two stop strategy
25.08.2013
Pirelli on 2013 Belgian Grand Prix – RaceRed Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has taken his 31st career victory at the Belgian Grand Prix, held on the longest circuit of the year. Vettel’s la weiter >>
Renault powers Sebastian Vettel to majestic Spa victory
25.08.2013
•    Sebastian Vettel (Infiniti Red Bull Racing) wins Belgian Grand Prix by 17secs over Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso•    Reigning world champion secures second win in three years at Spa-Francorchamps t weiter >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Spa race win 2013
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GP – RACECar 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: WINNER, Start Position: 2nd  “I don’t think we expected to be dominant here, and it surpris weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa race
25.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix 2013 Race  Spa Francorchamps Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg secured a strong team result this afternoon at the Belgian Grand Prix, taking third and fourth places respectively at Spa-Francorchamps. weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa Race 2013
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIXSpa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 25“As always, it was really fun to race around this magnificent circuit”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-04Started & weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team endured a difficult Belgian Grand Prix in Spa…
25.08.2013
…with brake failure leading to the retirement of Kimi Räikkönen whilst Romain Grosjean employed a one-stop strategy to finish eighth. Kimi’s DNF was the first of his Lotus F1 Team career and his first retirem weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Race
25.08.2013
2013 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Race  It was mixed fortunes for Sahara Force India as Adrian Sutil raced to ninth place in the Belgian Grand Prix, while Paul Di Resta failed to finish after being hit weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Spa race review
25.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2013Spa Francorchamps, Belgium – 25th August 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell products are available in more than 60,000 retail locations wo weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Spa race review
25.08.2013
2013 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 25/08/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 10th “It was nice to get that point! We ran a long first stint on the Hards a weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Spa Race
25.08.2013
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 25.08.2013Weather: cloudy and dry, 19-21°C air, 24-27°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team was not able to claim points at the Belgian Grand Pr weiter >>
Spa F1 race result 2013
25.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     44     Winner     2     252 &n weiter >>
F1 driver quotes after Spa F1 qualifying 2013
24.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX SPA FRANCORCHAMPS24 AUGUST 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“It wasn’t clear if the first lap we did in Q3 was the lap on intermedi weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 qualifying result 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX1     10     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     2:00.368    1:49.067    2:01.012     22 weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 3 classification 2013
24.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:48.327         162  &nb weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps F1 driver quotes after free practices
23.08.2013
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“We don’t know what happened when I got the puncture in P2. We lost the rear right, very suddenly, so we need to weiter >>
Spa Francorchamps Free Practice 2 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:49.331         222     weiter >>
Spa Practice 1 classification 2013
23.08.2013
FORMULA 1 SHELL BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:55.198         112     14  &nb weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2013 The Belgian Grand Prix, the first race after Formula One's summer break, takes place at the historic Spa-Francorchamps circuit in the Ardennes region this weekend. •  &n weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Belgian GP preview
21.08.2013
PREVIEW TO THE BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  Spa-Francorchamps statisticsLENGTH (KM)    AVERAGE SPEED (KPH)    TOP SPEED (KPH)    % OF LAP AT FULL THROTTLE    FU weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa preview
21.08.2013
2013 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix Preview Sahara Force India looks forward to the Belgian Grand Prix, the eleventh race of the 2013 season.  Team Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, reflects on the team’s recent weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Spa Francorchamps preview
21.08.2013
2013 Shell Belgian Grand Prix11th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 23rd to 25th August 2013After a two week summer break the Sauber F1 Team is looking forward to the Belgian Grand Prix at the circ weiter >>
Hard and medium Pirelli tyres for Spa Francorchamps 2013
21.08.2013
Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa-Francorchamps   Before the mid-season break, the Formula One teams visited the slowest permanent track on the calendar: the Hungaroring. Now they head to one of the quickest of all: Spa-Francorchamps, in the foothill weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa Francorchamps preview
16.08.2013
2013 Belgian Grand Prix previewSpa-Francorchamps facts & statsAfter a four-week break in the Formula 1 calendar, Vodafone McLaren Mercedes returns to action at one of the world’s most historic racetracks. Spa- weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here