Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Gulf Air Bahrain GP preview

0
353

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Gulf Air Bahrain GP preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Gulf Air Bahrain GP preview

02.04.2014: 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix – Preview Round Three of the 2014 Formula One World Championship

2014 Bahrain Grand Prix – Preview

 

Round Three of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Sakhir for Bahrain Grand Prix, held at the Bahrain International Circuit.
 

 
Driver / Senior Management Quotes

 
Lewis Hamilton

It was great to kick-start my season with a win in Malaysia. Taking a one-two was also a fantastic result for the team and I can't wait to see what we can do in Bahrain. I've finished on the podium here a couple of times here but, for one reason or another, I've never managed to get the win.

Until last week it was the same story for me with Malaysia, so fingers crossed this can be the year of breaking those cycles! Malaysia was a really busy event for the team and we have a test coming up straight after this weekend's race, so it would be great to give the crew another good result to head home with after a long road trip.

 We know it's going to be tough to maintain our current form, particularly at a circuit where every team has had so much running time over the winter, but I'll be pushing hard to keep those results coming.
 

Nico Rosberg

The first two races have been a great start to my season and I'm already looking forward to being back in the car and carrying on that momentum in Bahrain. It's a great track and I really enjoy driving it. I've never had much luck on race weekends here, but it's definitely the one I'm best prepared for this year.

I came to Bahrain for the Pirelli tyre test back in December and during winter testing a few weeks ago. Of course, it's the same situation for most teams and drivers so we could see some close battles throughout the weekend. We may be leading both Championships at the moment but our rivals are breathing down our necks, so we need to stay focused and keep doing our job calmly and professionally.
 

Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport

We can be very proud of our achievements last week in Malaysia but there is no room for complacency. After two races we are leading both the Drivers' and Constructors' Championships. But the most important thing to take from that is that it has only been two races.

We are in the very early stages of what will be a demanding year for everybody and we have seen already that fortunes can change very quickly. We approach Bahrain with the same mentality as we have approached every challenge so far this season: in the knowledge that nothing must be taken for granted.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)

Malaysia produced a highly satisfying result for the factories at both Brackley and Brixworth, with a historic one-two finish for the team complemented by Mercedes-Benz powered cars occupying seven of the top 10 positions. This is down to the hard work and dedication of a fantastic group of people and is very much deserved.

Having said that, it is essential that we do not relent in our efforts. With every team having run at the circuit during the winter, Bahrain can be seen as a benchmark in terms of competitiveness at this early stage of the season. The combination of heavy traction demands and variable grip levels are a challenge for both car and driver, while the long straights reward strong performance from the Power Unit.

We expect a tight battle throughout the field this weekend and it will be interesting to see how far the cars have come over the past few weeks since our last visit.
 
 




Bahrain International Circuit: The Inside Line

 
In the Cockpit
 
Lewis

 

The Bahrain circuit is a real challenge: particularly for the tyres in terms of overheating. Quite often you get sand blowing onto the track, which is one of the unique features of this circuit and throws another challenge into the mix. A dusty track will have less grip than a clean one, so you have to prepare for that to change even between qualifying sessions.
 

The layout has a great combination of fast, slow and medium corners which make it tough for the drivers and the car. The lap starts with a long, DRS-enabled straight heading into the first corner. This is very tight right-hander, changing down to first or second gear before immediately shifting up again as you head immediately into Turns Two and Three.
 

After the second of four straights, Turn Four requires quite heavy braking and can catch you out on the exit. As you clip the apex the track starts to drop away from you and it can be quite tricky to stop the car from sliding wide. After the downhill section of Turns Five, Six, Seven and Eight, you rise up again briefly before a tricky slope down through Turns Nine and 10. These are off camber and it's easy to lock the inside wheel as the curve gets tighter and tighter.
 

The third straight comes next, with a second DRS zone making the following corner at Turn 11 one of the best overtaking opportunities around the track. This is a flowing curve which switches back into the right-hander at Turn 12. You try to take this flat out before braking into Turn Thirteen.

You need a late apex through this corner and it's essential to get that right, as it leads into the fourth and final straight of the lap. The same applies for the Turn 14 and 15 combination, which bring you back onto the home straight.
 


Nico

 
We are back in Bahrain once again this week: a place we are very familiar with this year. Completing so many test sessions at one track is quite unusual these days with the limited test mileage available, so it's the circuit we are best prepared for on the calendar.

Straight after the season's second round in Malaysia, it also forms the first back-to-back race of the year. The Bahrain International Circuit is a modern track with first-class facilities. There are many long straights and the circuit is very fast. It's a great layout and driving there is a lot of fun.
 

Turn One is the key corner around the track, with a lot of overtaking after the long start / finish straight. There's also the long, fast Turn 12 at the back of the circuit, which leads into Turn 13 and onto another straight. This is a tricky one, as it's tough on the rear tyres.

Tyre overheating and degradation was a major factor last year in Bahrain and will be a consideration again this year, although probably not to the same extent. Just like in Melbourne, we have the soft and medium compounds this weekend so they're pretty well known to us now.
 

Fuel consumption will play a crucial role in Bahrain, like at the season opener in Melbourne. These two tracks are probably the toughest of the year in that respect, so it should really benefit us to have completed so many test laps there during pre-season.

We learned a lot about fuel consumption at this track and how to optimize it for the race weekend. However, all drivers will probably have to keep a close eye on their consumption in the race. Those drivers who can get away with using the least amount of fuel will have a small advantage.
 

Nicola Armstrong , Bradley Lord, Wolfgang Schattling     – photo Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-gulf-air-bahrain-gp-drivers—121476.html

02.04.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

McLaren Mercedes F1 Gulf Air Bahrain GP preview
01.04.2014
2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – preview Formula 1 heads to the desert for round three of the 2014 world championship, but there won’t be any sunshine during this weekend’s Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix. The eve weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain GP preview
01.04.2014
Formula1  GULF AIR BAHRAIN Grand Prix 2014Sakhir International CircuitJean-Eric Vergne: Sakhir will be the first track this year where we have already driven the latest car, as we had the two test sessions there. weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain preview
01.04.2014
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2014Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – 1st April 2014   GeneralRace Laps: 56The track surface is usually sandy at the start of each session weiter >>
Lotus F1 driver Pastor Maldonado Bahrain preview
01.04.2014
Pastor MaldonadoWith the first two races of the season not quite going to plan, Pastor Maldonado looks forward to the challenge of one of the toughest races of the season.What do you think of weiter >>
Lotus F1 driver Romain Grosjean on Bahrain
01.04.2014
ROMAIN GROSJEAN Romain Grosjean and Lotus F1 Team reached the chequered flag for the first time in 2014 at Sepang, when the Frenchman overcame a loss of downforce to win an entertaining duel for eleventh place with former team-mate Kimi Rä weiter >>
Lotus F1 Nick Chester, technical director on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
NICK CHESTER, TECHNICAL DIRECTORImprovements in reliability mean attention is turning to unleashing the true performance of the E22. Lotus F1 Team Technical Director Nick Chester explains all… What did the team learn in weiter >>
Lotus F1 Federico Gastaldi, Deputy team principal on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
BAHRAIN Grand Prix – 4/5/6 APRIL 2014Federico Gastaldi DEPUTY TEAM PRINCIPALLotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi is buoyed by the team’s first finish of the year, but under no illusions of the task ahead. weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix, Sakhir circuit preview
31.03.2014
Sakhir Circuit 3-6 April 2014 – P Zero white medium and P Zero yellow soft tyres for one of the most severe circuits of the year in terms of tarmac roughness- temperature drop of 15 degrees possible throughout the evening race weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview
31.03.2014
2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th April 2014Directly after the race in Sepang, the Sauber F1 Team is travelling to the third round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship ta weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain race
21.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen took his third podium finish of the season and Romain Grosjean his first after a superb second and third place result in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix. After emulating the 2-3 result of the same result weiter >>
Clean sweep of Bahrain Grand Prix podium for Renault engines
21.04.2013
Renault-engined drivers locked out the podium in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix, with Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel taking a commanding win over Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.It is the s weiter >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing Bahrain race
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GP – RACE                                 Ca weiter >>
Vettel's three-stop strategy results in Bahrain GP win
21.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand Prix – RaceSebastian Vettel (Red Bull) winning the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixReigning world champion Sebastian Vettel used a three-stop strategy to win the Bahrain weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Sunday 21st April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationEvery day GE Healthcare technology helps doctors save nearly 3,000 lives weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXBahrain International Circuit, Sunday April 21“That’s what this sport is all about; it’s called racing”SERGIO PEREZMP4-28A-02 weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 21.04.2013 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-26°C air, 42-37°C trackIt was a disappointing Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team. In a race that had weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Race  It was a successful day for Sahara Force India in Bahrain as Paul Di Resta raced to a strong fourth place. Teammate Adrian Sutil’s hopes of points ended with a first lap puncture.  weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg finished the Bahrain Grand Prix in fifth and ninth places today after battling drives, however both cars struggled badly when temperatures were at their highest in the early stages of the race. •&nb weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 21/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 16th “I got a reasonable start, better than some of the guys around me and I got ahead of G weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Race result 2013
21.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Provisional Results   1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     57     Winner     2 weiter >>
F1 Driver quotes from Bahrain qualifying 2013
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSAKHIR  SATURDAY  20 APRIL 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“I’m not disappointed with that. Well done to Nico, it was a strong lap and it was weiter >>
Multiple strategies possible at the Bahrain Grand Prix
20.04.2013
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), pole position at the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixMercedes driver Nico Rosberg will start from pole position at the Bahrain Grand Prix tomorrow, thanks to a time of 1m32.330s set on the P Zero White medium tyres, weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Bahrain – QUALIFYING Nico Rosberg took the second pole position of his career in Bahrain today with Lewis Hamilton qualifying in fourth place. •    The result gave the team its first consecutive pol weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set the ninth fastest time and Romain Grosjean the eleventh during qualifying for the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix. Romain missed out on the top ten by a mere 0.06secs but will be the first driver on the grid to have weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Qualifying Sahara Force India carried its strong form into today’s qualifying session for the Bahrain Grand Prix with Paul Di Resta setting the seventh fastest time ahead of te weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 20.04.2013Weather: overcast, 31-33°C air, 37-43°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team experienced a difficult qualifying for the Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix. Despit weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGBahrain International Circuit, Saturday April 20“We’ve both got a chance of scoring points”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th&n weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain qualifying review
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – FP3 & QUALIFYINGSakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Saturday 20th April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner information weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 20/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:34.577, pos. 14th, 16 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:34.120, ( weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here