Lotus F1 driver Pastor Maldonado Bahrain preview

0
328

Lotus F1 driver Pastor Maldonado Bahrain preview

Lotus F1 driver Pastor Maldonado Bahrain preview

01.04.2014: Pastor Maldonado With the first two races of the season not quite going to plan, Pastor Maldonado

Pastor Maldonado

With the first two races of the season not quite going to plan, Pastor Maldonado looks forward to the challenge of one of the toughest races of the season.


What do you think of the Bahrain International Circuit?

Bahrain is a good circuit. We’ve been there in the pre-season and I think all the teams will be happy to return, especially for the weather and the type of track.

I would say it is a ‘complete’ circuit because it has a mix of high, medium and low speed turns, plus good sequences of corners. So it’s a good venue to test at, which is exactly what we need to evaluate our new developments. The facilities for the teams are great as well.  


Malaysia then Bahrain, do you enjoy racing in the heat?

To be honest they are not my favourite conditions, but it’s the same for everyone so I’m not complaining. When the visor goes down it doesn’t matter. You just focus on driving.  


How important has the track time been during the Malaysian weekend?

It’s the most important thing. More mileage with the car means the engineers can increasingly focus on performance. Clearly reliability is still not 100 percent, partly because of our late testing debut with the car, but we have fixed many problems and that enables us to turn more attention to performance.  


How frustrating was it to suffer from issues every day of the race weekend?

Very, of course! I’m here to race so you never want to be sat in the garage when the car should be out on track. I had more than my fair share of unreliability in Malaysia, but every time we expose a problem it means we have something to fix and we take a step forwards. There were good positives in Sepang. I did get some good laps and I can feel that the E22 is a proper race car.

 A race car that still needs quite a lot of work, but still a race car with great potential. We saw that Romain completed a race distance, which is a great positive. We also saw our rivals having problems, showing that we are not alone with the challenges of these very different new cars. 


 How would you sum up Sunday at Sepang?

With Bianchi I just felt an impact at the back of the car which spun me around. But from the start we were losing a lot of power which meant I had to retire in order to protect the engine. Despite that, the weekend was clearly a step forwards.

Since the Saturday, we were able to run far more with the car and Romain was able to finish the race. We’re not the only ones with issues so early in the season. This is all related to the complex packages in the car, but we learnt a lot and will make progress for Bahrain.  


What do you want from the Bahrain Grand Prix weekend?

Good reliable laps in the car would be the starting point. This will allow us to understand the car’s performance and where we can improve it. It will allow me to give feedback to my engineers and understand the challenges of driving the latest generation car. We can also work on understanding the tyres better as they are different this year, and the tyres are always an area where performance gains can be made.  


Bahrain will be a night race for the first time, will that mean any special changes?

We will probably need to approach Bahrain a little differently technically now, in terms of tyre pressures and set-up. Otherwise we will treat it much like any other race and obviously we have experience from night events in Singapore and Abu Dhabi.

I’m definitely looking forward to it though.  It’s the first time at night in Bahrain so something new for us all to discover.
 

– Andy Stobart, photo Lotus F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-driver-pastor-maldonado-bahrain-circuit—121452.html

01.04.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Lotus F1 driver Romain Grosjean on Bahrain
01.04.2014
ROMAIN GROSJEAN Romain Grosjean and Lotus F1 Team reached the chequered flag for the first time in 2014 at Sepang, when the Frenchman overcame a loss of downforce to win an entertaining duel for eleventh place with former team-mate Kimi Rä weiter >>
Lotus F1 Nick Chester, technical director on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
NICK CHESTER, TECHNICAL DIRECTORImprovements in reliability mean attention is turning to unleashing the true performance of the E22. Lotus F1 Team Technical Director Nick Chester explains all… What did the team learn in weiter >>
Lotus F1 Federico Gastaldi, Deputy team principal on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
BAHRAIN Grand Prix – 4/5/6 APRIL 2014Federico Gastaldi DEPUTY TEAM PRINCIPALLotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi is buoyed by the team’s first finish of the year, but under no illusions of the task ahead. weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix, Sakhir circuit preview
31.03.2014
Sakhir Circuit 3-6 April 2014 – P Zero white medium and P Zero yellow soft tyres for one of the most severe circuits of the year in terms of tarmac roughness- temperature drop of 15 degrees possible throughout the evening race weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview
31.03.2014
2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th April 2014Directly after the race in Sepang, the Sauber F1 Team is travelling to the third round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship ta weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain race
21.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen took his third podium finish of the season and Romain Grosjean his first after a superb second and third place result in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix. After emulating the 2-3 result of the same result weiter >>
Clean sweep of Bahrain Grand Prix podium for Renault engines
21.04.2013
Renault-engined drivers locked out the podium in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix, with Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel taking a commanding win over Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.It is the s weiter >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing Bahrain race
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GP – RACE                                 Ca weiter >>
Vettel's three-stop strategy results in Bahrain GP win
21.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand Prix – RaceSebastian Vettel (Red Bull) winning the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixReigning world champion Sebastian Vettel used a three-stop strategy to win the Bahrain weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Sunday 21st April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationEvery day GE Healthcare technology helps doctors save nearly 3,000 lives weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXBahrain International Circuit, Sunday April 21“That’s what this sport is all about; it’s called racing”SERGIO PEREZMP4-28A-02 weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 21.04.2013 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-26°C air, 42-37°C trackIt was a disappointing Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team. In a race that had weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Race  It was a successful day for Sahara Force India in Bahrain as Paul Di Resta raced to a strong fourth place. Teammate Adrian Sutil’s hopes of points ended with a first lap puncture.  weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg finished the Bahrain Grand Prix in fifth and ninth places today after battling drives, however both cars struggled badly when temperatures were at their highest in the early stages of the race. •&nb weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 21/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 16th “I got a reasonable start, better than some of the guys around me and I got ahead of G weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Race result 2013
21.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Provisional Results   1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     57     Winner     2 weiter >>
F1 Driver quotes from Bahrain qualifying 2013
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSAKHIR  SATURDAY  20 APRIL 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“I’m not disappointed with that. Well done to Nico, it was a strong lap and it was weiter >>
Multiple strategies possible at the Bahrain Grand Prix
20.04.2013
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), pole position at the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixMercedes driver Nico Rosberg will start from pole position at the Bahrain Grand Prix tomorrow, thanks to a time of 1m32.330s set on the P Zero White medium tyres, weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Bahrain – QUALIFYING Nico Rosberg took the second pole position of his career in Bahrain today with Lewis Hamilton qualifying in fourth place. •    The result gave the team its first consecutive pol weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set the ninth fastest time and Romain Grosjean the eleventh during qualifying for the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix. Romain missed out on the top ten by a mere 0.06secs but will be the first driver on the grid to have weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Qualifying Sahara Force India carried its strong form into today’s qualifying session for the Bahrain Grand Prix with Paul Di Resta setting the seventh fastest time ahead of te weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 20.04.2013Weather: overcast, 31-33°C air, 37-43°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team experienced a difficult qualifying for the Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix. Despit weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGBahrain International Circuit, Saturday April 20“We’ve both got a chance of scoring points”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th&n weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain qualifying review
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – FP3 & QUALIFYINGSakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Saturday 20th April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner information weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 20/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:34.577, pos. 14th, 16 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:34.120, ( weiter >>
Sakhir Qualifying results, Nico Rosberg takes pole
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:33.364    1:32.867    1:32.330  &nbsp weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Saturday Practice results
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:33.247         122     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:33.348     weiter >>
Sahkir F1 drivers quotes after Friday practices
19.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013  SAKHIR International CircuitInfiniti Red Bull RacingMark Webber“I would have liked to have got some more running in P2, but I still think we learned what we expected today. Saturdays a weiter >>
Sakhir F1 practice 2 results
19.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     7     Kimi Räikkönen     Lotus-Renault     1:34.154         312     2     Mark Webber     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:34.184   &nb weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here