Caterham F1 Team Bahrain preview

0
367

Caterham F1 Team Bahrain preview

Caterham F1 Team Bahrain preview

01.04.2014: BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2014 Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – 1st April 2014

BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2014

Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – 1st April 2014  

General

Race Laps: 56

The track surface is usually sandy at the start of each session

Lots of marbles off the racing line

Elevation is relevant out of T11

Bumps and kerbs are not an issue

High brake energy circuit

Usually quite windy, affecting car behaviour in high speed corners

High ambient temperatures and very dry

Braking and traction instability are usually the main issues

First gear is used in T1 and usually a short first gear is used for launch due to high grip levels of the track

Top gear requires particular attention due to strong tail or head winds
 


Circuit Particularity

Bumpiness: low (T14 bumps in braking zone)
Overtaking chance: T1
Kerbs: smooth / medium
Ride height setting particularity: usually low
Engine severity: high
Gearbox severity: medium
Lat/Long grip: longitudinal
Aero eff ratio: medium / low
Track grip evo during w/e: high
Aero settings: high
Brake wear severity: high
Brake cooling necessity: high
 

Bahrain GP lowdown with Renault Sport F1 track support leader, Cedrik Staudohar

 

Main challenges of Sakhir for the Power Units: “As a modern track with an equal balance between straights and tight corners, Sakhir is a fairly medium-demand circuit. A smooth, neutral PU set up will really pay dividends as some of the corners – particularly in the back section from T4 to T9 – roll into each other.

As at all tracks, the challenge is to have the correct balance between energy management and driveability. We also need to play particular attention to the cooling since the Bahrain desert can reach up to 45°C. With cooling requirements already at a premium with the high rotational speeds of the turbocharger and MGU-H, adding extra external temperatures will make engine cooling a priority task on the job list.
 

Main energy recovery points: “The four straights – the 1km pit straight, 500m between turns three and four, the short burst linking T10 and 11 and then the final drag from T13 to T14 – will give plenty of opportunity for the MGU-H to recover energy from the exhaust since the ICE will be working at full revs for around 50 – 60% of the lap.

The twisty back section from turns four to eight and 11 to 13 have several heavy braking points, plus the corners at the end of the straights allow the MGU-K to keep the battery reserve at high charge. The circuit is therefore in the middle of the table on the balance between electrical energy and fuel.”
 

Difficulty rating: “Medium. The temperatures increase the difficulty but the circuit itself is average.”
 

What to watch out for: “The winter testing period included two tests in Bahrain, which were pretty difficult at the start for the team and Renault but improved throughout and finally saw Caterham record a good percentage of Renault’s total mileage over both tests.

This time we will come back with a lot more mileage under our belts, including two full race distances in GP conditions, which gives us a lot more confidence and information going forward. There are still some small issues but right now we are concentrating on performance rather than trying to go for reliability.”
 

Driver Quotes

Kamui Kobayashi: “Next it’s back to Bahrain for race three, back at a track we’ve already spent a couple of weeks at this year in the pre-season test where we managed to build up some pretty good mileage at a time when our reliability was good, something that will be really important this weekend. We also now have something to build on, both in terms of performance and from where we are now, in tenth place in the championship and with targets ahead that we know we can race with.
 

“Reliability really is the main focus for Bahrain. We need to have three good practice sessions so we can go into qualifying and the race with an optimised setup giving us the chance to really find out what the real performance level of this car is.

On my last day of the test in Bahrain we weren’t able to do the final performance run because of a clutch issue, and we really haven’t had a chance since then to run the car in full quali spec with optimised setups because of the reliability problems we’ve had, and the wet quali sessions we had in both Australia and Malaysia.

Yes, we performed well in Malaysia for much of the race, but that was with a car that had almost no meaningful setup work done on it and with more still to come from the power unit. It’s vital we have a full weekend so we can pick up where we left off in Sepang and continue to improve across all areas of the car’s performance.

“Our ability to develop is what will be crucial this year. Our development program is starting in Bahrain with the first new parts coming from the work we’ve been doing in the TMG wind tunnel and it’ll be good to see how they perform.”
 

Marcus Ericsson:
“I left Malaysia feeling pleased that I’d finished my first full race, and excited about what we achieved on Sunday at Sepang. It was tough – even though we’d completed quite a few laps on Friday and Saturday, we still went into the race without an optimised setup due to the issues we had on Friday and the work we had to do overnight to rebuild the car on Saturday and Sunday, so the most important thing in Bahrain is to have a trouble free weekend.

Also, the Bahrain circuit characteristics should suit our car better than Sepang so we may be stronger here than in Malaysia, relative to the competition.
 

“I obviously know the Bahrain circuit well after the tests and, like Malaysia, that means we can get on with the program right from the first laps in FP1.

We have a lot of data that’s helping us go to the race with a much clearer idea of where we want to go with setup than we’ve had in either Australia or Malaysia, but it would also be really helpful if we can have the sort of reliability we had in the second pre-season test – mileage is what will help us unlock the full performance of this year’s car, and I know how hard both Renault and our team are working to make sure we can do that.”
 

Robin Frijns, driving FP1 in Kamui Kobayashi’s car, and driving in the Bahrain test (day TBC)
: “I’m excited about being back in the car for my first FP1 of the 2014 season with Caterham, especially as I already have experience of the car at Bahrain from the day I did in the pre-season tests.

 It’ll be interesting to see how much progress we’ve made across the whole car since I last drove it, but my focus will be on helping the team prepare for the race weekend, something I know I can add value to, assuming we have a problem-free session!
 

“After the race weekend we’re staying on for the first of the in-season tests and I’m doing one of the two days of that test. Obviously that’s a different proposition to an FP1 – quite a lot less pressure, more time on track and a much bigger runplan, but it’s still really important to approach that day with the same focus and determination to do as well as I can for the team.

It’s another chance for me to continue to learn as much as I can about operating efficiently with the team on track, building on the work I’ve been doing with them in the simulator back at Leafield, and I can’t wait to get back to work!”
 

– TOm Webb, photo Caterham

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/caterham-f1-team-bahrain-gp-sakhir-circuit—121453.html

01.04.2014 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Lotus F1 driver Pastor Maldonado Bahrain preview
01.04.2014
Pastor MaldonadoWith the first two races of the season not quite going to plan, Pastor Maldonado looks forward to the challenge of one of the toughest races of the season.What do you think of weiter >>
Lotus F1 driver Romain Grosjean on Bahrain
01.04.2014
ROMAIN GROSJEAN Romain Grosjean and Lotus F1 Team reached the chequered flag for the first time in 2014 at Sepang, when the Frenchman overcame a loss of downforce to win an entertaining duel for eleventh place with former team-mate Kimi Rä weiter >>
Lotus F1 Nick Chester, technical director on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
NICK CHESTER, TECHNICAL DIRECTORImprovements in reliability mean attention is turning to unleashing the true performance of the E22. Lotus F1 Team Technical Director Nick Chester explains all… What did the team learn in weiter >>
Lotus F1 Federico Gastaldi, Deputy team principal on Bahrain GP
01.04.2014
BAHRAIN Grand Prix – 4/5/6 APRIL 2014Federico Gastaldi DEPUTY TEAM PRINCIPALLotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi is buoyed by the team’s first finish of the year, but under no illusions of the task ahead. weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix, Sakhir circuit preview
31.03.2014
Sakhir Circuit 3-6 April 2014 – P Zero white medium and P Zero yellow soft tyres for one of the most severe circuits of the year in terms of tarmac roughness- temperature drop of 15 degrees possible throughout the evening race weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix preview
31.03.2014
2014 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th April 2014Directly after the race in Sepang, the Sauber F1 Team is travelling to the third round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship ta weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain race
21.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen took his third podium finish of the season and Romain Grosjean his first after a superb second and third place result in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix. After emulating the 2-3 result of the same result weiter >>
Clean sweep of Bahrain Grand Prix podium for Renault engines
21.04.2013
Renault-engined drivers locked out the podium in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix, with Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel taking a commanding win over Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.It is the s weiter >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing Bahrain race
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GP – RACE                                 Ca weiter >>
Vettel's three-stop strategy results in Bahrain GP win
21.04.2013
2013 Bahrain Grand Prix – RaceSebastian Vettel (Red Bull) winning the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixReigning world champion Sebastian Vettel used a three-stop strategy to win the Bahrain weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Sakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Sunday 21st April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationEvery day GE Healthcare technology helps doctors save nearly 3,000 lives weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXBahrain International Circuit, Sunday April 21“That’s what this sport is all about; it’s called racing”SERGIO PEREZMP4-28A-02 weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 21.04.2013 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-26°C air, 42-37°C trackIt was a disappointing Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team. In a race that had weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain race
21.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Race  It was a successful day for Sahara Force India in Bahrain as Paul Di Resta raced to a strong fourth place. Teammate Adrian Sutil’s hopes of points ended with a first lap puncture.  weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg finished the Bahrain Grand Prix in fifth and ninth places today after battling drives, however both cars struggled badly when temperatures were at their highest in the early stages of the race. •&nb weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain race review
21.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 21/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 16th “I got a reasonable start, better than some of the guys around me and I got ahead of G weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Race result 2013
21.04.2013
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013Provisional Results   1     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     57     Winner     2 weiter >>
F1 Driver quotes from Bahrain qualifying 2013
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSAKHIR  SATURDAY  20 APRIL 2013Infiniti Red Bull RacingSebastian Vettel“I’m not disappointed with that. Well done to Nico, it was a strong lap and it was weiter >>
Multiple strategies possible at the Bahrain Grand Prix
20.04.2013
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), pole position at the 2013 Bahrain Grand PrixMercedes driver Nico Rosberg will start from pole position at the Bahrain Grand Prix tomorrow, thanks to a time of 1m32.330s set on the P Zero White medium tyres, weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Bahrain – QUALIFYING Nico Rosberg took the second pole position of his career in Bahrain today with Lewis Hamilton qualifying in fourth place. •    The result gave the team its first consecutive pol weiter >>
Lotus F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set the ninth fastest time and Romain Grosjean the eleventh during qualifying for the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix. Romain missed out on the top ten by a mere 0.06secs but will be the first driver on the grid to have weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Qualifying Sahara Force India carried its strong form into today’s qualifying session for the Bahrain Grand Prix with Paul Di Resta setting the seventh fastest time ahead of te weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 20.04.2013Weather: overcast, 31-33°C air, 37-43°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team experienced a difficult qualifying for the Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix. Despit weiter >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGBahrain International Circuit, Saturday April 20“We’ve both got a chance of scoring points”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th&n weiter >>
Caterham F1 Team Bahrain qualifying review
20.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – FP3 & QUALIFYINGSakhir International Circuit, Bahrain – Saturday 20th April 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner information weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain qualifying
20.04.2013
2013 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 20/04/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:34.577, pos. 14th, 16 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:34.120, ( weiter >>
Sakhir Qualifying results, Nico Rosberg takes pole
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:33.364    1:32.867    1:32.330  &nbsp weiter >>
Sakhir F1 Saturday Practice results
20.04.2013
 FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 20131     3     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:33.247         122     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:33.348     weiter >>
Sahkir F1 drivers quotes after Friday practices
19.04.2013
BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2013  SAKHIR International CircuitInfiniti Red Bull RacingMark Webber“I would have liked to have got some more running in P2, but I still think we learned what we expected today. Saturdays a weiter >>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here